The human condition

I find myself wishing we were not born with this affliction. This unnecessary consciousness. This syndrome of being human, the conflict hidden behind everyone’s eyes.

All I see are apes afflicted with this human condition.

People say depression is a selfish illness. I most certainly can be self centred, especially when I’m depressed. But, do you know what causes me the most depression of all? Looking at all these naked apes and thinking, every single one is just a vessel of suffering. Behind each and everyone’s eyes lurks an abyss, that once you stare into them you can’t look away. Because there is no going back. Nothing hurts me more than when I acknowledge the never ending stream of suffering. I could be charitable, I could go out there and help but I don’t believe there is a cure for this condition.

Prevention as they say, is better than a cure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

